... a local website, by local people, for local people, viewed by people everywhere



about theBythams

activities and events

business directory

community services




groups, clubs and societies

the church

local government
careby pc
castle bytham pc
little bytham pc
south kesteven dc
lincolnshire cc

Glenside news



whats new and updated


contact us

about the website




local government : lincolnshire county council

added ??? : updated 25/11/06 : checked 25/11/06
This page is not included in a regular update sequence and will be checked and updated infequently

Little Bytham and Castle Bytham both lie within the boundaries of South Kesteven District Council which in turn lies within the County of Lincolnshire. The county town, Lincoln, lies approximately 43 miles to the north and most of the functions of the Council are administered from there.

Lincolnshire borders Norfolk, Cambridgeshire, Rutland, Leicestershire, Nottinghamshire, South Yorkshire, the East Riding of Yorkshire, and (for just 19 metres or 20 yd, England's shortest county boundary) Northamptonshire.

Lincolnshire is the second largest county in England, after North Yorkshire, with an area of 6959km and is predominantly an agricultural county.

CLICK HERE to go to the main website for Lincolnshire County Council. The website provides information about the services they provide, their structure and gives a local perspective on topical issues.

history of lincolnshire

In the Doomsday Book the area now known as Lincolnshire was called the Kingdom of Lindsey which originated from the ancient Kingdom of Lindsey and the Danelaw Borough of Stamford. Later the term Lindsey became applied to the core around Lincoln with the area to the south being refered to as Kesteven in the south west and Holland in the south east.

In 1888, when county councils were set-up, Kesteven, Lindsay and Holland were each awarded county status. This remained until 1974 when the Local Government Act 1972 merged Holland, Kesteven and much of Lindsey into the current County of Lincolnshire.

The terms Kesteven, Lindsey and Holland remain today in some of the district names of Lincolnshire - South Holland, North Kesteven, South Kesteven (in which theBythams lies), East Lindsey and West Lindsey.

the Lincolnshire flag

On 24 October 2005 an unofficial flag fro Lincolnshire was unveiled at fice locations across the county. The design for the flag had been chosen as the result of a competition organised by BBC Radio Lincolnshire and Lincolnshire Life magazine.

The flag features a red cross with a gold fleur de lis in the centre on a blue and green quartered background. A gold border represents the crops grown in the county. The blue on the flag represents the sea and sky of Lincolnshire and the green symbolises the fields, while the fleur de lys represents the City of Lincoln.

The flag even has its own website at where you can buy various items emblazonned with the design.

contacting the Council

By telephone ...

The Councils switchboard is open from 8am to 6pm, Monday to Friday and between 9am and 1pm on Saturdays.

Social Services (Children) ... 01522 782111
Social Services (Adults) ... 01522 782155
Registration of Births, Deaths and Marriages ... 01522 782244
Highways and Planning ... 01522 782070
Schools Transport ... 01522 782020
Education ... 01522 782030
Libraries ... 01522 782010
Cultural Services (including museums, heritage attractions and archives) ... 01522 782040
Corporate Services (including Lincolnshire Development and Information enquiries) ... 01522 782060
Community Safety (including Lincolnshire Fire and Rescue non-emergency calls, civil protection and disorder) ... 01522 782050
For Departments not listed above ... 01522 552222

By Letter ...

Lincolnshire County Council
County Offices

By email ...

CLICK HERE to GOTO the Lincolnshire County Council website

Unofficial flag of Lincolnshire

The unofficial flag of Lincolnshire

Lincolnshire County Council, Council Chamber

The Council Chamber at Lincolnshire County Council
(Image from the LCC website)